In Limbo…Always

November 21, 2007 at 3:28 pm | Posted in Life in the US | 7 Comments

I really don’t see myself living in the States forever.  In fact, I think I would be miserable spending the rest of the days here.  At least in Rhode Island.  Homeboy and I eventually want to move back to Mexico, but only after we’ve saved enough money to do something.  What that something is, we don’t know yet.  But it’ll be a really great something.

I’m reminded of something I miss about life in Mexico every day. 

But as I walked the dog last night, I started to think of things that I’d miss about living in Rhode Island.  I came up with the following:

Yep, that’s it.  And it’s not even like I actually participate in or watch the roller derby here.  It seems enough just to know that, should I choose to, I can watch edgy hipster women beat the crap out of each other while whipping around a roller rink.

Upon further examination, I came up with one more thing I’d miss: beer in pint glasses and burgers.

This one will have to be continued, as I further examine the profound reasons I remain here. 

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve signed up so that I can comment you from time to time, and I put you onto my bookmarks toolbar so I won’t forget to check you out.

    I think there would be a lot of things I’d miss here. My ideal scenario would be having enough money to spend 6 months a year in both places.

    House in Chuburna, house in the LBC (Cali lingo for Long Beach)

    and you know, I was thinking of doing roller derby, I guess I am one of those annoying hipsters from time to time (even though I swear they annoy me to death) but I am seriously a danger to MYSELF more than others when I’m on wheels. I even gave away my skates. MY mom thanked me for that one 🙂

  2. Perhaps that amazing something you will do in Mexico will be bringing Roller Derby to Cancun. If you do it at Plaza de Toros, you’ll get that bonus nasty odour to go with the sweaty, sexy, edgy women on wheels. Add some 15 peso beers and you are in business!

    Oh what I wouldn’t give for a real pint of draught beer…..mmmmmmmm, beeeeeeer.

  3. I would LOVE to be a modern-day snowbird and spend the winter in the south and summers north. Glad to see you, my TijuanaHilton (or la Super Naca?).

    Oohhh.roller derby in Cancun. I’m also dangerous/ineffective on wheels.

    Kelly: Stella, Hoegaarden, Framboise!!

  4. Damn you! You know my weaknesses, my krypton if you will. Mentioning Framboise right now has sucked all my power, I am a puddle on the floor, covered in drool.

  5. One of the things I missed while living in the Yucatac (both times) was an effecient mail system and access to good health care. Not that our health care system in the US is steller, but…

    Plus I really missed the seasons. I missed the leaves changing color and the occasional snowflake. But then again, nothing beats the crystal clear waters of Cancun/Playa!

  6. Dammit, you can’t edit the comments you leave? I know how to spell Yucatan, dammit!

  7. […] I’m adding reasons for being pleased about life in the States to my original […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

