How Many Balls Can I Juggle?

November 23, 2007 at 11:49 am | Posted in Blogging, Nonprofit, Working | 2 Comments

These past five months of working part-time, looking for full time work, and spending lots of time getting Homeboy acclimated to the U.S. have been alternately frustrating and wonderfully under-scheduled.  Alas, it’s now time to go back to my favorite state of being: overcommitted and frazzled, yet ultimately enlivened and inspired.

I’m a bit daunted by the roster of activities I’ll have on my plate from Monday on:

  • My brand new job designing and implementing a workforce development program for out-of-school youth (high school drop-outs in normal-speak).  This job is a great mix of program management and case management, and the offer couldn’t have come at a better time.  I was getting bitter and crazed about the difficulty of finding a full-time position in the nonprofit world.  Ultimately, I think all those rejections for positions I was perfectly qualified for primed me for this job: with people I know and adore, in a community that has grown on me, and only five minutes from our apartment.
  • And since my new job will be at the community center where my old job rents office space, I will also continue Weeding & Seeding a few hours a week.  I’ll get to tend the projects I love the most: a leadership development program for urban youth and the volunteer tax preparation site for low to moderate income families.  And I’ll also continue writing whatever random stuff needs writing: flyers, newsletters, letters begging people for things, translations, etc.
  • A new, itsy bitsy (yet super cool and exciting) freelance blog writing gig.  I’m offering commentary and posting articles on the topics closest to my heart: immigration, ESL instruction, and cultural competency in the workplace. 
  • And lastly, I’m making the slowest progress possible toward my Master’s.  At this rate, I’ll be done with it in 2015.  But every semester, I get giddy with excitement before the first day of my class.  I get light-headed with glee when I have the syllabus in my sweaty little hands.  And next semester, I’ll take a course on grant writing, which will be so useful to the work that people give me money to do.

My challenge will be to find some balance without compromising my favorite activities like sleeping, reading, and staring into space for uninterrupted stretches of time.  And oh yeah, to make sure that I continue to be a good wife to Homeboy and a good dog-mommy to Leo.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Firstly, the post title makes me giggle like a school girl. Secondly, I am so thrilled that finally someone recognized your talent and skills and put you in a PERFECT position for you, congrats! Good luck with the new job and keeping the balance of navel gazing and work.

  2. I’m starting to think you’re married to somebody straight out of East Los!

    Felicidades on your new job. Sounds like it was made for you 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

