Keeps Pulling Me Back

December 1, 2007 at 12:33 pm | Posted in Blogging, Self | 10 Comments

One of my favorite lines from Rumi’s poems is:

Let yourself be silently drawn by the stronger pull of what you really love.

And this is manifesting itself in my blog.  I think.  The liveliest posts are ones about Mexico and Homeboy.  I tried to blog about Cape Verdean immigration to Pawtucket, and even I was bored by the flatness of what I produced.  My love for and commitment to The Bucket exists, but is still in its infancy.  Whereas my personal knowledge of and commitment to Mexico and the Yucatan is much deeper and has been growing for years.  Odd, considering that I’m from here, and have been discovering aspects of Rhode Island worthy of my fascination and attention since I moved back. 

As Orale, Pues! continues to develop, I think I’ll keep in mind Rumi’s words.

The subjects to which love draws me are the subjects I’ll post about.  I think it’ll be interesting to see how this blog unfolds if I only post about what moves me or obsesses me.

And I’m curious…I’d like to know how my visitors (regular or sporadic) who have personal blogs choose what to post about.  What is it that, in your opinion, makes a post rock or crash and burn?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “Let yourself be silently drawn by the stronger pull of what you really love.”

    Those are great words to read right now. I have a surprising big decision to make, something that very recently fell into my lap, and I guess.. that’s all I can say right now.

    As far as blogging, I find that posts about my Milwaukee or my generally American life are usually boring. I think my best stuff involves the cross-cultural aspects, or anything that contrasts my husband’s background and mine, or anything dealing with immigration issues, which of course… is what I love.

  2. Ooohh…that’s sounds interesting. And great!

    It looks like I’m on my way to being in a similar blogging-boat.

  3. I started my blog to mostly write about living in Mexico so my kids could keep up with us and at first I loved writing about all things Mexican. Now some of the new has worn off….not that I don’t still love living here but I’ve written about so many of the differences already. Gradually my blog is becoming more about my other love, photography. I’m not sure where it is headed but I know that it doesn’t have a singular point of view and therefore doesn’t attract as many readers as some blogs. Although I feel the blog is for me, I guess that competitive spirit worries when reader levels drop.

    Here’s another thing about blogs, they are public and I just think that knowledge of being public influences our writing.

  4. Thanks for stopping by, Billie!

    You hit on one of the things that I think is so odd about personal blogs, that weird tension between their being utterly personal yet public. It’s like an entirely new kind of voice, one that is really interesting to me.

  5. Mine started as a journal of what I was doing while living in Cancun for the folks back home and to give people my perspective. I figured the only ones reading it would be my friends. It has definitely morphed into a miasma of nothingness, but Billie is right, for me anyway. I figure if people get bored and don’t read it anymore it’s fine with me. I just like to write. I think your blog will come into it’s own the more you blog. I’m enjoying it anyway!

  6. Great quote, I love it. I’m still a blog newbie, a tadpole if you will in the pond they call a blogosphere. I’m still finding my way, but so far it is a LOT of life in Cancun, my animals and a bit about Max. I’m sure it will evolve, into what, I don’t know. I am going to find it hard to stay away from politics, it’s something I am passionate about, but the warnings from others have been heeded and I will be walking a nice straight line away from my lefty leaning posts about politics in Mexico.

  7. I start by not giving a shit. And it goes from there. If I “manufacture” a blog post, that is, if I research and form a strong opinion on something it usually feels bossy or flat to me. If I just blog about whatever fits at the moment I’m more satisfied with the posts.

    To me blogging is sort of like going off on some rant in front of your friends when you are a teeny bit tipsy, except they aren’t all your friends and you might not be tipsy. But you get the idea. Go with it and don’t try. Let it be cathartic. Let it be what it is.

    Your blog is great.

  8. All good points…I especially like your analogy, RiverGirl!

    Canuck…there is some way to make a post and not have it public and only allow certain people to access it, isn’t there? That might be a way for you to get your political fix without worry.

  9. “To me blogging is sort of like going off on some rant in front of your friends when you are a teeny bit tipsy…”

    Great analogy!!!

  10. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

