Nuestro Rancho

December 22, 2007 at 7:44 pm | Posted in Marriage, Mayan Culture | 8 Comments

I decided that I wanted Homeboy to buy me a horse, and he said he could get me one for about 500 pesos.  He also said that we could keep them (of course, he wants a horse too) on his father’s land, which is just south of Chichimila.  Don Petin (Homeboy’s dad) used to work his milpa there, but now the fields are fallow and the land abandoned. 

Our plans exploded from there, but Homeboy has now taken it in a direction that I don’t want to go!  Despite the fact that he used to cry like a baby when his dad would send him to the fields to work, he dreams of being a ranchero.  This, coupled with his parallel dream of being a torero, has taken our plans to an ugly place. 

I said I wanted sheep.  He accepted that, and added cattle to it.  Now he’s gotten it into his head that he wants to start raising black, brave bulls to sell for corridas.  We’ve often argued about bullfighting, as it really upsets me.  Yet he absolutely adores it. 

(An aside: when we were first together and I was living in Chichimila, we went to a corrida during the village’s feria.  He started egging on his friend, whom everyone calls El Vaquero , to jump down from the stands and get in the ring with the bull.  His friend protested, and I noticed Homeboy getting twitchy and crazy-eyed.   Before I realized what was happening, he had jumped off the stands and launched himself into the ring.  He then proceeded to chase the bull around for a good five minutes.)

If we actually ever do something with the land, I can forsee a lot of head-butting over the bull thing.  I really just had this romantic fantasy of getting to wear cowboy boots and spending leisurely afternoons on horseback.  But nothing gets Homeboy more excited than the idea of raising his own bulls. 

I also envision doing tours for those gringos who adore “authentic Mexican experiences.”  Tour on horseback, learn about how Mayans farm, swim in a cenote, eat some relleno negro, and get “cleansed” by a real Mayan shaman!  My idea for the last part was to get one of his friends to wave some tree branches around and babble on in Maya.  But Homeboy now wants to pay an actual shaman to do this!  There’s one living in his brother’s house.  He is supposedly ridding the house of the after-effects of the curse placed on his brother’s deceased wife.  This man has been there for years, and I imagine that if the house has not yet been cleansed of evil, it never will be.

I wonder if people would actually pay for something like this. 

If not, we’ve always got the bulls to fall back on.  Gulp.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh I think they’d pay. They’ll buy anything. I’d come just for the relleno negro. And I certainly could do with a good Shaman cleansing.

  2. I think I could also use a good cleansing as well!

    His mom doesn’t yet know about the food part…uh oh! Bet she’ll just love our plan…especially the food part, which is tons of work.

  3. Sign us up for cleansing, sin bull porfa. We’ll build your website and set you up with all the gawking tourists you can handle in exchange for horsey rides.

  4. Max gets a stallion!

  5. I hope you don’t hate me for laughing hysterically at this post 🙂

  6. Can you NOT picture me in boots and a hat, Steph? 😉

  7. LOL! I think the visitors would love it, especially with the fake shaman. Defintely something to write home to the folks about.

  8. Max IS a stallion, so that’s appropriate! Thanks amiga, he’ll be thrilled.

    Hope life is grand, missing you much!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

