Bad Boys, Bad Boys Whatcha Gonna Do?

January 21, 2008 at 6:44 pm | Posted in Life in the US, Quirks | 4 Comments

I’m pretty critical of the United States, and usually have no problem with letting my discontent rip. 

But there are a few things that make me all giddy about living in this country.

The first is Cops.  I love this program more than I can express.  I can watch three hours of back-to-back episodes of Cops and still be hungry for more.  What a great nation I live in, where the issues and transgressions of my depraved countrymen can be broadcast into my living room.  I eat it up. 

I am currently composing a list called “What I’ve Learned from Watching Cops” and am eager to share the results with you once I have more than three items on my list. 

I also adore Triple A. (AAA) and in fact, get choked up whenever I ponder how helpful these people are.

Since I’ve had a car to drive, AAA has come to my rescue numerous times:

  • after Homeboy left the headlights on this Saturday, AAA arrived 2.5 minutes after I put in the call to jump start my car.
  • they towed me from Narragansett to my parents’ house in Seekonk this summer when a belt snapped on my car.  The tow truck driver showed me a grass farm.  Apparently Rhode Island has one of the best grass farms in the country.  Who knew?
  • AAA towed my first car from Connecticut to Massachusetts for free (I swear, if we had traveled any further, the driver would have sparked a joint with me)
  • AAA sent a locksmith to the motel we were stranded at in Belfast, Maine one hungover Sunday after celebrating a friend’s wedding (we did have to wait almost four hours for the locksmith to finish his golf tournament before he came, and my hungover date almost had a breakdown walking down Route 1 between Belfast and Searsport)
  • they got my keys out of a locked trunk during the bluegrass festival in Telluride, Colorado, back in the day when I thought that being a hippie was an acceptable life choice.
  • the time a burly AAA guy arrived with his little pink thing (his word choice) to break into my car when I’d locked my keys inside

I’m sure there have been more, but these were the times when I welled up with emotion at AAA’s unfailing comptetence.

See? I’m adding reasons for being pleased about life in the States to my original ones. 

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Check out the first season of Mr. Show for a great skit about the ultimate cops show star – Ronnie Dobbs. He’s even got his own page on wikipedia. It’s really funnier than the article lets on…

  2. You are too funny! Cops and AAA! That’s funny! I’m glad you are finding things to be happy about, that’s healthy.

  3. Oh my gosh, Frymaster is right on the money. Mr. Show….best sketch comedy EVER.

    I miss my “Cops” fix. Ugly Americans at their best/worst! Totally fascinating anthropologically, they get REAL caveman on there.

  4. […] A Badge, Please? March 16, 2008 at 12:27 pm | In Life in the US, The Bucket | A while back, I posted about my abiding love for Cops.  This love grows stronger every day, and I stil can’t get […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

