If Only I Could Commit…

March 2, 2008 at 6:09 pm | Posted in Life in the US, The Bucket | 2 Comments

I started taking classes toward my Master’s in Professional Writing at UMass Dartmouth when I moved back to the U.S.  I have been delaying actually applying to get into the program for about two years now. 

I’ve wanted to go to school for writing for a couple of reasons: writing is as natural to me as speaking and I love to do it, school is just plain fun and a wonderful way to get some “me” time, and smart girls get advanced degrees.

But now I’m extremely ambivalent about whether I really want to do this.  First, there’s the time commitment.  I used to flee work to get to class and truly enjoyed the escape from my daily life.  But now the thought of missing four hours of life at the community center fills me with anxiety, especially because those four hours of class take place at the same time the center is at its most kickin’. 

I also wonder if I actually need a Master’s in Professional Writing.  It sure is a lot of fun, but is that enough to warrant a heck of a lot of money and time?  While I do enjoy theoretical discussions about rhetoric, style, and tone, real-life subject matter will always get me much more amped.  Do I really want to devote my precious brain work to something I have to struggle to connect to the life I experience every day? 

As I write this, I’m starting to lean towards ix-naying this course of study, but I hate that I’ve got a semester’s worth of coursework just dangling there without having the satisfaction of a completed degree. 

My portfolio is solid and my recommendations sealed and ready to deliver, but I’m still not sure I want to apply. 

This is pretty annoying for me, because I generally know what I want.  Which leads me to believe that I don’t want this degree enough to turn my schedule into a mish-mash of overcommitment just yet.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, there is something inside of you telling you not to commit just yet. Sounds like you can reason out part of it, but maybe your gut knows more than it’s telling you. I generally go with “when in doubt, don’t”, but that usually just applies to expensive hand bags. Yes, smart girls get advanced degrees, but they also listen to their gut, at least for a little while.

  2. Writing is like sex. You don’t get good from a class. You get good from practice!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

