Shedding My Tunnel Vision

March 6, 2008 at 12:27 pm | Posted in Life in the US, The Bucket, Working | 2 Comments

Now that the weather is getting warmer, it feels like little bits of my brain are coming unstuck.  I’m finding that the path I trace everyday (work, grocery store, home) to be restrictive and I crave open spaces.  The urban landscape that I face every day is not enough, and I’m desperate to frolick in the woods!

I grew up in the ‘burbs, and have spent most of my life in beautiful, natural places.  Places where you can smell the change of seasons, but here in this city, the smells of spring are faint.

As the days get warmer, it’s becoming easier to relegate work and its attendent responsibilities to a corner of my life.  An important corner, but one that doesn’t wholly define me.

I’m amped for the buds on the trees, road trips to climb mountains, and new projects!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it really getting warmer or are the cold and snow causing you to hallucinate? Cause I would hate for you to walk out in your shorts and chanclas if it’s just a delusional dream of spring.

    The city is a crappy place to be in winter, all grey and gloomy and slushy and yucky. Get out of town for the weekend with Homeboy, show him how to toboggan!

    (Miss you hon, let’s find some time to chat)

  2. It was a false start…back to being cold, but I definitely expected that!

    Pawtucket is kind of a depressing place to be in any season…oddly enough, I live very close to one of the only places which doesn’t make my chest constrict, that being the river.

    Almost idyllic except for the homeless drunks who hang out there. They’re perfectly nice to me though and always throw bread at Leo!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

