The Kids Definitely Aren’t Alright

April 27, 2008 at 4:44 pm | Posted in The Bucket, Working | 4 Comments

Bracelet Boy (formerly known as Home Confinement Dude) texted me last night to inform me that Your Highness’s older brother had died.  I fervently hoped for a car accident or a fatal bout with meningitis, but had the feeling neither of these was the case.

Bracelet Boy told me he “went out strong,” and managed to shoot and kill the kid who shot him first before dying himself.  He was only twenty and died because of some gang-related bullshit “beef” in a park in Central Falls yesterday afternoon.

The park across from my office has been turned into a memorial for the young man.  While paying tribute, fights broke out and the cops pepper-sprayed a whole mess of kids. 

I can only hope that Your Highness and his boys learn from this, and find that “representing” means more than seeking revenge.  But I don’t have huge hopes for this. I wonder what it’d take for them to channel their grief and confusion into ending the violence rather than escalating it. 

May the young man find the peace in death that he couldn’t find in life.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Can I ask you how you are doing? That’s a tough job to have.

  2. Thanks for asking, Liz. I’m just really worried about all the kids, especially Your Highness. I also work right in the middle of it, literally, as the park is pretty much the gathering point for all gang members in this area. And when there’s an issue, this is where it happens. There is definitely an increased police presence. Lots of rumors about retaliation. The other man involved actually didn’t die and was just charged with murder.

  3. Wow. Seriously you have some big heuvos to do what you do. Hang in there and I hope you are doing ok and are safe.

  4. I’m impressed that you can deal with this stuff. The mafia here freaks me out and I don’t even deal with them on a personal level. You are where the action is.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

