Not Gonna Be the Summer of Love

June 3, 2008 at 11:37 am | Posted in The Bucket, Working | 8 Comments

Yet another dreaded text message arrived last night.  There was a drive-by just outside of work at 8:30 pm and a kid was shot in the back while running away. 

They hadn’t released the name of the youth, but Channel 12 came over to the center to talk to us.  Of course, I booked it, but not before getting the name of the youth.  It was Silent Bob.  He’s been coming here a couple of times a week with a dance group for over a year.  He was practically mute for months and months but just recently had been warming up to us.  I’d start getting little smiles from under his black hood and we’d progressed to actual greetings.

Apparently he’s in stable critical condition at the hospital. 

Despite the fact that this happened directly outside of work and that this kid and all his boys were frequent visitors and clients, I don’t particularly fear for my safety.  The only thing that concerns me is that the people with guns who want to use them on the boys of Woodlawn aren’t exactly sharpshooters.  While they might have a specific target in mind, it’s doubtful that they have the expertise with firearms to actually hit the target. 

I fear that this is only the beginning. 

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh man, I am so sorry to hear about this. I know you will be careful, but seriously, watch your back girl! I hope Silent Bob makes a full recovery and gets back to his dancing form. I wish the US would seriously consider changing the gun laws, it’s just far too easy for stupid kids to get their hands on weapons, and as you say, most of them don’t even know how to use them and it’s the innocent people that get hurt.

  2. I think it would be so hard to watch these kids come and go, developing social skills and personalities, evolving even a little bit, and then find out they have been injured or killed. I gotta give you kudos for writing so matter-of-fact-ly. Deep down (well maybe not that deep down) I feel like you are pretty sad. Be careful out there.

  3. Stay safe girl.

  4. Thanks for the well wishes! I was seriously rude to a reporter today, but she was wearing a stupid pink suit.

    It seems that this is just going to go back and forth…now these guys will go and retaliate and on and on.

  5. Oh, Jesus. I’ve said it before and I know I’ll say it again: I don’t know how you do what you do. But bless you for it. The world needs people like you so desperately.

    P.S. A bit off-topic and maybe inappropriate, but pink suits are cute, if they are like that Chanel one that Jackie Kennedy was wearing.

  6. I could totally see a pink suit being cute if it were a la Jackie O., but this was news reporter lady style. 😉

  7. […] Silent Bob is not so silent anymore.  We’re doing our best to get him out of the state, and when he says he wants to be out by September, his anxiety is so palpable that I feel it in my tummy. […]

  8. […] January 14, 2009 at 9:19 pm | In Life in the US, The Bucket, Working | I’ve known of this kid for almost three years.  For the first two and a half, he would just barrel by me, head down, […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

