A Thought (Or a Couple)

October 17, 2008 at 10:34 pm | Posted in Life in the US, Mayan Culture | 1 Comment

I’m not going to post an actual well-thought out narrative with stats and links, because I’m just too brain-dead.  But the violence in Mexico is picking up and spreading out and affecting those not involved in narcotrafico.  The death toll is probably in the thousands, but I’m not going to go looking for the numbers.  And all those drugs are headed north where the demand is.  Americans are so sincere about supporting those who want to end genocide in Africa and feed little poor cuties in Central America.  But what about if Americans decided to put an end to the deaths in Mexico that come from fighting carteles?  We’re all doing our part to go green, right?  Why don’t we get the coke consumers to band together and just say no to do their part in saving the innocent people dying in Mexico?  And we’re all about Farmers’ Markets and buying local.  Why don’t all the stoners just say no to the cheap Mexican shwag and and start buying the domestic kind?

I swear, if there were any more drama and excitement in my forty-hour work week, it might just give me a stroke.  So I’m going to post one of my favorite pictures from Chichimila, Yucatan.

 

A little blurry, no?  Any ideas how to fix it?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Funny, it took me a few minutes to realize that was you in the picture. I just thought it was one of those guera looking Mayans.

    *Sigh*…I totally miss Mexico. I have moments where I want to move back. Like, tomorrow…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

